Poetry Perk (And New Artwork)

Here’s a little bonus post just for the fun of it!

I’m a bit of a romantic at heart, and as much as I like to be productive and rush from place to place, I also appreciate the eloquent beauty of poetry. When I was young and the chill of Autumn filled the air, I’d lay in a bed of leaves under a tree in our backyard and read William Wordsworth to my heart’s content. I also loved to express myself through poetry even into my teens (nerd alert!).  Now I’m too busy writing emails and lesson plans to sit and decipher gratuitous language to make out hidden meanings, although I can concoct a mean rhyme under pressure in front of my students if necessary. So every once in a while I might throw in a poetry post with related artwork when I come across something particularly intriguing.

Fireflies in the Garden

Here come real stars to fill the upper skies,
And here on earth come emulating flies,
That though they never equal stars in size,
(And they were never really stars at heart)
Achieve at times a very star-like start.
Only, of course, they can’t sustain the part.
– Robert Frost
 IMG_20160522_193810927
And, complete with blurry photos, a couple more I came across while teaching concrete poems to my class. These are poems by Bob Raczka (I was way more excited about his poems then my students were; oh well, you can’t win ’em all).

IMG_20160511_215648856

IMG_20160511_215906444

And finally, after the confusion and discussion of interpretation of poetry back when I was in college, I concluded:
These words, though mysterious,
Do not mask
a thought.
Skillfully crafted, beautiful,
They are
the thought.
Do not questions, ignorant,
confusion blinds
your thoughts.
Listen carefully, understand,
Not the words, but
my thoughts.

The Firefly painting is up on Etsy if you want to check it out: Birds and Berry Studio

About birdsandberry

Etsy Seller, Art Enthusiast, Blogger, Jesus Lover, Teacher, Crafter
Image | This entry was posted in All Things Art Related, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

