When the World Tells You You’re not Enough

This is the first school year in five years that I haven’t had a full-time teaching job. But now that I find myself in this new stage of life – this sort of nebulous, semi-job of artist/blogger/church-member/substitute-teacher – I’m at this weird place where I’m trying to figure myself out. I’m trying to justify my time. What is it I’m doing and is that really worth it? There’s this nagging sense that the world is telling me to be more, try harder, make more money, look a certain way. And I buy into the lie that I need to be worthy of my own existence.

when-the-world-tells-you-your-not-enough

I fill my days with painting pictures for the shop, cooking and cleaning, making calls and running errands, exercising, helping with church, networking. But I also do my fair share of sleeping in, vegging on social media, sitting and staring aimlessly into space. And I feel less than because I don’t have kids that keep me busy and give me a legitimate reason to stay at home all day. I’m torn between loving the freedom to plan my own schedule and do work that I choose to do, and having this listless sense of watching life pass me by and feeling like I’ve accomplished nothing (it’s the curse of the classic over-achiever, I guess). I get caught up in the trap of comparing myself to others and feeling like my worth is tied up in what I can do. How do those other women accomplish what they do, have the energy they do, write the blogs and raise the kids they do?

And yet, I have a sneaking suspicion that everyone feels a little like this. From the outside, everyone else looks so polished and put together. But we all have our insecurities lurking just behind our whitewashed facades.

Do you ever feel that way? Like you’re a boat being tossed on the open ocean and you need a compass to guide you and an anchor to hold you down? Like everyone else has it all figured out and you’re just making it up as you go along?

Sailboat on the Ocean Painting

If we keep justifying our own existence by our to do list of accomplishments, than we devalue the purpose of life itself. Our value is not in a paycheck, our children, our social media presence, or any number of things we stake our claim to.

Anchor your heart in Christ and what he’s already done on the cross. Trust that He can take your broken pieces of Not Enough and use them for His glory. Instead of getting caught up trying to make a way for yourself, look to the one who has already made a way. Know that He will equip you for what He calls you to, whether that’s raising babies, running a business or anything in between.

Like what you read? Hop on over to the sidebar and subscribe to receive an email every time a new post comes out.

 

 

 

About birdsandberry

Etsy Seller, Art Enthusiast, Blogger, Jesus Lover, Teacher
Image | This entry was posted in Seeing God in all of Life, The Creative Life, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to When the World Tells You You’re not Enough

  1. kghocke says:

    I think those times that we let go of needing to feel productive can open up time for reflection and dialogue with God too. Thanks for the post Anne! I’m excited for Love Story Part 2.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Nicole says:

    Hello! I found your lovely blog through the Moments of Hope linkup! I would LOVE to chat further with you… I feel so close to everything you are saying! I’m newly-ish married and at home with no kids, or a school year ahead of me… but I do rest in knowing that the timing and place God has us now, IS enough.

    Like

    • It’s a strange feeling isn’t it? I’m grateful for the time to rest in Him and just rest in general, but I do feel like I should be doing more. It’s so good to remember that God has a here for a reason and has given us this time as a gift. I’m looking forward to checking out your blog!

      Like

  3. Yes I feel this way and I have 5 kids too. I need to park my worth on God more. I am worthy because the cross says I am.
    I enjoyed your post!
    Your #momentsofgrace neighbor,
    Julie

    Like

  4. Sara says:

    I can totally relate to these feelings! There was a period of time before I had kids where I wasn’t working, and I struggled so much with my identity. Fast forward a few years and I still struggle with these same feelings! It just shows that our worth cannot come from our circumstances at all but from who God has made us to be through no work of our own: loved, accepted, forgiven. I loved this line by the way: “Instead of getting caught up trying to make a way for yourself, look to the one who has already made a way. ” So. So. True. God bless! 🙂

    Like

    • Thanks for your encouragement! In this “social media” world we live in, it’s really easy to compare and feel like everyone but us has it all together, when in reality we all need Jesus. Blessings!

      Like

  5. Jennifer Worrell says:

    Beautiful sentiments. The world will always find fault with what you’re doing. That’s why you just have to anchor yourself! Good reminders!

    Like

  6. Lori Schumaker of Seaching for Moments says:

    Beautiful Truth, Anne! We all have insecurities and begin to feel inadequate so easily! But our worth is simply in our identity in Christ! What we do is for Him and in His perfect timing! But it’s not about over achievement! Love this, friend! Thanks so much for sharing this hope at #MomentsofHope! It is a hope that all women need to hear!

    Blessings and smiles,
    Lori

    Like

  7. Life Breath Present says:

    Oh my do I suffer with the feelings on “not enough”! Thankfully, I’m getting much better at noticing when my mind tries to go down that path, but still the thoughts come sometimes. Even as a SAHM (and blogger, and aspiring shop owner), I get these thoughts and feelings. Maybe it is the curse of the overachiever (which I am squarely) or maybe it’s the many many mixed messages we all receive in the world, but especially as women (and, dare I say, Mothers)! I hope as you ease into your chosen life more and more it gets better! 🙂

    Like

  8. I think women in general struggle with these feelings. There is something in our make up that tells us that we aren’t enough. Maybe that is a good thing, in a way, because it drives us to strive to be our best. But we need to never forget who we are, Daughter’s of God, who loves us, and we love him. I can see that you are doing great things with your life. Don’t compare yourself to anyone else, whether you have children or not, whether you work or not, your circumstances are yours and you don’t have to be like anyone else in order to feel the way you do.

    Like

Leave a Reply

