Living in Fear or in Faith?

We just moved to a place where there’s a legitimate fear of grizzly bears and rattlesnakes; at least for someone like me who has wild visions of vicious creatures emerging from behind every tree or under every bush (don’t worry, mom, I carry bear spray wherever I go). And let’s be clear, I’ve nearly stepped on rattlesnakes twice in the wild, so you can’t say I’m totally exaggerating.

wyominglandscape

I used to espouse the philosophy of “what do I have to lose?” when I was single. I was generally up for new adventures and more willing to be in more dangerous situations (that’s all relatively speaking, of course; I’m have my limits). But now that I’m married and a little more established in my life I think I have everything to lose, and I live with the fear of that daily. I find fear to be ever present in my marriage and in the varying degrees of possession-owning I’ve been in in my life. For a time, I had a huge fear about my house burning down. Every time Owen heads to the mountains for a hike in bear-infested wilderness, I worry. I really don’t want anything to happen to my car, my health, my family…. and the list goes on.

How do we combat these fears and start living in faith?  Head on over to The Fear Warrior Blog to read the rest of this post. Jerusha is a good friend from Wisconsin who is a writer and just started her own blog which addresses fear in general and in her own life (birds of a feather, am I right?). Thanks, Jerusha, for featuring me!

Also, I had a chance to preview a memoir by  Edie at the life in Grace blog who I’ve been following for a while and it is such a beautiful, heart-wrenching story. Talk about facing fear head on. Her book, All the Pretty Things comes out tomorrow! It’s available on Amazon so go check it out!

jump-scared

 

About birdsandberry

Etsy Seller, Art Enthusiast, Blogger, Jesus Lover, Teacher
Image | This entry was posted in Seeing God in all of Life, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Living in Fear or in Faith?

  1. jerushaagen says:

    Thanks for visiting The Fear Warrior Blog, Anne! This memoir you mention looks really interesting! I’ll have to check it out.

    Like

  2. Anne, I’ve quoted this statement over and over as a team builder to my clients of all ages, and when I get to be the one to see their face on the other side of jumping scared, it is an amazing reward. It seems I have spent a lifetime myself of practicing this leap of faith, and God so honors it in the midst of being scared. Just loved your post! Crystal~

    Liked by 1 person

  3. gabrielletylerblog says:

    Hi! I really like your image, it drew me in! I’m visiting from Titus 2 Tuesdays. Thanks for sharing!

    Like

  4. Living in faith is hard, because it takes looking beyond what we can see and trusting God’s promises, God’s goodness, and God’s faithfulness, and it is SO worth it; I am so thankful that God gives us the gift of faith; without Him I would be nothing.

    Like

  5. Lori Schumaker of Seaching for Moments says:

    Praying for you as you jump scared, my friend! You’ve got this! I’m so glad you shared this hope with us at #MomentsofHope!

    Blessings and smiles,
    Lori

    Like

Leave a Reply

