How to Focus on What Really Matters This Christmas

When I was a teenager, Christmas for me started in October. I wrote lists of ideas for handmade gifts to make for each of my 4 siblings and my parents. I started hand-making little toy trains, doll clothes, and artwork to give as Christmas presents. I created detailed advent calendars, and one year I even made a clay version of the 12 Days of Christmas. I listened to Handel’s Messiah for hours as I painstakingly made gifts. I decorated my room and baked Christmas treats. It was a magical time filled with all the nostalgia you would expect from such a momentous holiday.

advent-calendars

My childhood Advent calendars

And then, one year, it wasn’t.

Suddenly the magic disappeared. I stopped having time, or money, or creative ideas. My siblings were older and I couldn’t make things they appreciated anymore. I remember going to the mall to buy gifts one year, a few weeks before Christmas, and coming home empty-handed and completely frazzled. All the warm fuzzies of the holidays were gone.

I don’t know if this happens to most people: That transition from childhood wonderment at the holidays to seeing it as an obligation to keep the moments merry and bright. Maybe it’s just me.

I actually started to really dislike Christmas. I felt guilty for spending money on things that nobody really needed. I started to feel like it was a consumer holiday thinly veiled in “Jesus is the Reason for the Season”. I hated Santa who represents an imaginary greed-satisfier. I know, I’m a real Scrooge.

And I’m not sure I’ve ever fully recovered. Admittedly, I love Christmas decorations, sparkly lights, caramel popcorn and homemade fudge, and select Christmas songs. But I have a hard time really associating those things with what Christmas is actually about. There’s something greater at stake here. It starts with a baby in a manger and ends with a man on a cross.

The God of the universe manifesting himself in human form to be one of us. The world groaned with longing for a Savior, not just from the oppressive Romans but from their own sin. Jesus. Come to earth to “live the life we should have lived and die the death we should have died” (to quote Tim Keller).

And the world still aches for the fulfillment of the promise. That one day all things will be made right. We live in a continuing advent. A waiting.

“We live between two mighty events — that of His incarnation,
death, and resurrection, and that of His ultimate appearing and
the glorification of those He died to save.  This is the interim time
for the saints — but it is not a vacuum.  He has given us much to
do, and He asks for our faithfulness.” – A.W. Tozer

This Christmas, instead of worrying about having all the outward Christmas traditions, let the expectations go and take time to meditate more on what Christmas is really about. It’s not about giving the perfect gifts, making the best meals, spending hours on the most extravagant decorations, or any of the family activities. It’s about the continuation of a story that started in Genesis and ends with Jesus coming again. Christmas will never be enough because it points to the cross and the advent of Jesus’ final entrance into the world. When all the cookies are eaten, the Christmas tree dies, the new toys are forgotten, The best gift will still be there. Jesus.

advent-calendar-printable

I’m about 10 days late, but I made one last Advent calendar to share with you guys. Access the advent calendar printable here and print the two pages on cardstock, cut around three sides of each door with an exacto knife, glue around the doors and edges and put the two pages together. Count the days to Jesus birthday by opening each corresponding door.

 

Like what you read? Hop on over to the sidebar and subscribe to receive emails every time a new post comes out

About birdsandberry

Etsy Seller, Art Enthusiast, Blogger, Jesus Lover, Teacher
Image | This entry was posted in Seeing God in all of Life, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to How to Focus on What Really Matters This Christmas

  1. Jean Opelt says:

    So true. Thanks, Anne, for the timely reminder. The best gift will always be there. (And thanks for the Advent calendar!)

    Like

  2. welcomeheart says:

    beautiful and beautifully said – I lost the Christmas wonder around 7th grade maybe? but regrouped later on! such a good reminder that we are all in Advent, waiting for the real life to begin. Thanks and next to you at moments of hope!

    Like

  3. allisonasp says:

    You really got me with this line. “When all the cookies are eaten, the Christmas tree dies, the new toys are forgotten, The best gift will still be there. Jesus.”

    Who’s peeling onions in here??

    Like

  4. encounters says:

    Your post expresses how I feel with Christmas, like you it is about how God gave us the gift of Christ which somehow gets lost in all the commercialization which characterises Christmas these days. I used to love buying proper Christ cards which used to express the spirit of Christmas but now where I am you can no longer even get those. As for what to give those close I am now very lost. Thank you your post has helped me to know that I am not the only one feeling this way.

    Like

  5. Beautiful post! I’ve felt like that myself for the past few years. Christmas has always been my favourite time of the year but the past few years I’ve found it more tiring than anything else. I try to keep things simple and just focus on the main reason we celebrate Christmas. There is so much joy in the simplicity of loving the Lord.

    Like

  6. Oh friend, so love your honesty here. Boy, how I have felt the same way, at times. Truly we should focus less on outward traditions and more on inward meditations on Him and all He has done for us! Thanks for bringing us back to the CHRIST in Christmas and for taking the time to link at UNITE, with us! ~ Jen @ Richfaithrising.com

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Yes, may we focus on the One true and lasting gift of all! May you and yours have a blessed Christmas!

    Like

  8. Pingback: We’re Celebrating Christmas in October | Birds and Berry Studio

Leave a Reply

