How Did You Start the New Year?

Hey, Y’all! I’m back after a month of relaxing, socializing, consuming way more chocolate than necessary, a combined 40 hours of traveling, and one failed attempt at creating a new blog (that involved me completely deleting my website at one point).

We’re already two weeks into 2017. How are you all doing on your resolutions? Any words of the year that are ringing true for you?

To be honest, I’ve never been a big fan of resolutions. Back when I used to work at a gym, I realized they are great platforms for witnessing the failure of the New Year’s Resolution. Every January, the gyms are full of ambitious resolvers wanting to get fit. Come March, the classes are back to their usual loyal following.

Maybe it’s not health and fitness you’re trying to attain. Sometimes it’s having more consistent devotional times, or it could be big things like trips or business plans.

It’s just always seemed silly to me to wait until January 1st (which has few characteristic distinguishing it from other days) to make a change in your life. I mean, September 1st is as good a day as any to start working toward a goal. Or why not start now, of all times, two weeks after everyone else?

But this year, somehow it’s been different. Maybe because 2016 was such a reportedly bad year and people are ready to start a new one. For me, it’s been a marked time to evaluate my life and work, and be more intentional about facing this year with specific goals and priorities in mind.

There’s just something so fresh about knowing there’s a vast expanse of time ahead of you and there’s nothing like the start of a new year to remind you of that. It’s a perfect time to reevaluate how you spend your time and what you want to work toward.

tomorrow-is-fresh

I love the poignant scene in Anne of Green Gables where Miss Stacey and Anne are walking along the lane talking about past mistakes. Anne says, “tomorrow is always fresh with no mistakes in it.” I love that idea. I mess up a lot. I like to think that tomorrow I’m going to be better and never make the same mistakes twice. But I also love how Miss Stacey responds, “no mistakes in it yet.” The reality is, we will make mistakes again. Sometimes the same ones over and over. We will fail at our resolutions and we never know what tomorrow will hold, for better or worse.

I don’t know about you, but I’m already failing at my goals for the new year (that could be because I resolved to be better at and do more of ALL. the. things.). The start of the year has already become somewhat of a to-do list of ways to be more successful. And we’re bombarded with this message on all sides. The world tells us this is our chance to improve ourselves. If we just do XYZ, we can be the person we always wanted to become.

I’ve got to be honest, I listened to those voices, and I didn’t consider God’s plan for me when I was creating my checklists and dreaming my dreams. But if this day is His, how much more is this year?

We don’t know what this year will bring. But we do know whose we are. Our failures and successes have no power to define us. Take a second look at what you wanted out of this year and ask yourself how much of it aligns with what God is saying through His word in your life. And then relax. Trust Him to work it all for His good.

How about we give this year and all our goals and resolutions (and failures) to God and trust Him to make of them what He will in His perfect way.

untitled-design-1

Like what you read? Hop on over to the sidebar and subscribe to receive an email every time a new post comes out.

 

About birdsandberry

Etsy Seller, Art Enthusiast, Blogger, Jesus Lover, Teacher
Image | This entry was posted in Seeing God in all of Life, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to How Did You Start the New Year?

  1. kghocke says:

    Great article Anne, I have always love new years….the newness, opportunity to reflect and the excitement of what the year may bring. Resting in God’s plan for a new year is a comforting and exciting thought..He guides us and His plans will exceeds our expectations!

    Like

  2. Hi Anne, glad you are back to posting! Visiting from the Facebook group we’re in. No resolutions this year, just One Word (Act) and following a theme verse about trust (Isaiah 26:3). Blessings to you!

    Like

Leave a Reply

