A Picture is Worth a Thousand Words – A Little House with a New Beginning

My grandma was a big influence in convincing me to start painting as more than just a hobby. During Christmas a year ago, on our trip to visit family, we chatted at a coffee shop and it wasn’t long before she encouraged me to pursue selling my art. I don’t even remember how it came up in conversation, but I’m glad it did.

My grandma has been a big supporter of my creative life and I’m so grateful for a family who treasures and values art and beauty as much as I do.

Even though I only make it home a couple of times a year, I’ve been able to spend a lot more time with my grandma in the last year and a half since my grandpa passed away. I’ve treasured the conversations and time we’ve spent together. She was a teacher like me, so we have an automatic connection there, but she also has the Opelt sense of humor, she’s sharp as a tack and pretty classy to boot, and she loves popcorn (one of my obsessions).

Since my grandpa died, there have been a lot of changes for my grandma. She lost the man she was married to for over 60 year and she sold the grand old house that we used to visit as kids.

But she’s also looking to the future. Something that has been exciting for her is purchasing and moving into her own little down-sized home. She’s taken so much pride in this little place and in turning it into her own personal sanctuary.

grandma

She’s relished the task of picking paint colors and furniture. She’s hung up art and made it sweet and cozy (I haven’t been there to visit yet, but I hear it’s pretty sweet). She’s planted flowers and furnished the porches. She’s made it her home.

This Christmas, she asked me to paint her little home and frame it as a Christmas present to herself. I gladly complied with her request.What a special way to commemorate this new beginning in her life. house-picture

Last summer, a nest of bluebirds made their home in her yard. They raised their family there and flitted about all summer. A sign of a new start. She insisted I include them in the painting. There’s another thing we have in common: the love of birds.

 

Like what you read? Hop on over to the sidebar and subscribe to receive an email every time a new post comes out.

 

About birdsandberry

Etsy Seller, Art Enthusiast, Blogger, Jesus Lover, Teacher
Image | This entry was posted in A Picture is Worth a Thousand Words - Custom Art Pieces, All Things Art Related and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Picture is Worth a Thousand Words – A Little House with a New Beginning

  1. kghocke says:

    This is so sweet. Your Grandma sounds lovely Anne! I think it’s great to recognize and honor her for making a new start!

    Like

Leave a Reply

